Family

So my weekend two weeks ago, turned out to be the most fun I had this summer. Friday, happened to be my brother’s birthday. A day the whole family got together to thank God and to celebrate the adding of another year to the life of my brother. By saturday, the celebrations were long over but the festive spirit seemed to have spilled into the new day, which turned out to be fun as well. Sunday was the icing on the cake, with a very memorable wedding in church. In the midst of all the festivities and the merriment, one thing kept ringing in my head: “The Importance of Family”.

As I’ve come to realize over the years, a family is more than just a group of people related by blood or marriage. It’s far more than the group of people who you meet every year or couple of years in the village house for festive periods be it Christmas or New Year, or cousins you’ve never heard of not, to talk of meeting, or that your Uncle (ps, the same uncle your parents never let you visit *you know the one suffering from “simultaneous wives syndrome*
So, what is a family? or rather Who makes up your family? By definition, a family is a “fundamental social group typically consisting of one or two parents and their children” or “rather a group of people sharing ancestry” or “all members of a household living under the same roof. I for one, happen to find these definitions to be quite limiting. First off, I believe a family is not only related by blood or marriage or adoption in rare cases. To me, family comprises of not just my immediate blood relatives but everyone who genuinely loves you, cares for you and has your best interests at heart. Family is made of people who see you (the real you), not the “you” that you are today; but the you destined for greatness. Family is made up of the people who see your dream as more than just a dream and also go the extra mile to push you toward making it a reality.
Family sticks with you even when no one else will. Family stand by you and with you through the good and the bad.

Families though are not without their shortcomings, they sometimes do not see eye to eye on some matters, sometimes for reasons that seem pointless and impossible, they do not approve of some of our decisions and we feel Unloved (if that’s an actual word). These as we come to find out eventually is because deep down they love us and because they feel what they are doing is in our best interest. Besides, no good family will ever be complete without a good disagreement once in a while :). What matters though is not the fact that they fight or how often they fight. It’s that feeling of love and togetherness they share after each disagreement that really matters above all else.

I believe in every facet of our life, there will always be a person or persons we consider to be family. Besides there are always and will always be those special people, who have graduated “Best-friends High” with honours and moved into “Family Uni.” ( and no I’m not talking relationships :D), those people you can’t just help but be yourself around.

Anyway in all this plenty story, all I’m trying to say is a big “I Love You” to first off all my “Immediate Family” I couldn’t have asked for a better family. Thanks for loving me n putting up with me all these years . To my not so immediate but nonetheless still very important families (you know yourselves) I Love All of You… My prayer is that God will fan these flames of family and love in our hearts.

I Remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

One thought on “Family

  1. The family is the defining unit of any society. Once the family disintegrates as did Abraham’s family, we see the ripple effect coursing through out history… I say a big AMEN to the flame-fanner of family love! lol

Leave a Reply

