Merry CHRISTmas

image

Writing on Christmas wasn’t in my original plans for the day, I never really saw the need to *Not a very big fan of Cliches*. However against my better judgement, I’ve decided to write it anyway.

So let me start by saying Merry Christmas to you. Christmas means a lot to me, if I had my way: I’d celebrate Christmas everyday of the rest of my Life. So what exactly is Christmas? Christmas means so many different things to so   people. To some, *infact most people* Christmas is all about the Food, festivities, new clothes and presents. It is no secret that Christmas is the largest shopping event of the year, larger than “Black Friday” or “Cyber Monday”. Then to some peeps “Med Students” who have the unfortunate privilege of having classes and exams on Christmas day #SMH, we’ll let’s just say we aren’t really feeling the whole Christmas ginger but what can we do? Get Depressed? Stab our classes?

No, cause looking around, no one needs to tell you that this period is so not the best time to start feeling low and depressed cause let’s face it, it’s all about you but it really isn’t all about you. Like I stated before, if I had my way I’d celebrate Christmas Everyday for the rest of my life. Here’s why!!! The main reasons behind Christmas are “God’s Love” & “Giving. I am not talking about the giving of presents, Isaiah 9:6 says ” For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” For those of us who are conversant with John 3:16 *Which is pretty much everyone btw*. It says “God so Loved the world, that He Gave His Only Begotten Son”. Christmas therefore is the celebration of the birth of Jesus, of the fact that God loved us so much that He Gave us his Son to be born so He could accomplish 1 thing: reconciling us to our right standing with God. *If you still not getting me, I suggest you read “Work of Grace” in my previous posts.*

I don’t know about you but as for me, I’m overjoyed and Excited cause I hear “Merry Christmas” I remember that someone was born on the anniversary of this day *even though we don’t know the actual date* who saw it fit to die for not just the whole world but for me as an individual. It’s reassuring to know that even if I was the only one on earth, he’d still have come to die for me and because of that I am free. Well I’ll stop here for now but not before raising a Glass to the Man of the Hour, The Son of God, The King of kings, The Lord of Lords, My redeemer, my Saviour, Jesus…

Well That’s all folks, Merry Christmas, have fun, be merry, rejoice and in the spirit of the season: Give!!! Oh and remember the best gifts you can give anyone are the gifts of Love and Salvation, so show some love and tell someone about Jesus…

I Remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

Leave a Reply

