Happy New Year

20130102-024125.jpg

Hello Guys, so we are finally in 2013. I chose to write this today on the 2nd cause lets face it, yesterday was just too awesome for words. Well that’s for me sha’, for some people sha it was the first time they had been in Church in 364days *Sad Right??! SMH*. Others didn’t even bother to care and just decided to forgo The New Year Service & to “Cool off/ Dance their way” into the New Year. However way you entered the New Year, 1 thing is certain; We all entered 2013 with a Bang (and I don’t mean fireworks *Even tho’ their was a lot of that going on as well*)

So lest I forget, “Happy New Year”. But before we go on, I’d like us to take a moment to reflect and think about those that didn’t make it into the year and now to thank God if not for anything but for the fact that you’re alive and well. I’m Sure by now you guys would probably be getting tired of the Facebook Statuses, The Calls, the Tweets, the texts, emails and all other forms of communication they use these days. But as much as the constant notifications on my phone started to irritate me, part of me was happy that we all made it into the New Year and that actually was reason enough to be merry.

Anyway to the reason why we are actually here. As is the usual occurrence, I’m sure most of you spent the better part of the early hours of yesterday writing or *for lack of a better word*, enumerating your “New Year’s Resolutions”. Those sacred tasks/ aspirations we give “Priority” to; becoming more studious, more popular, quitting that addiction, getting closer to that girl/guy you’ve had your eye on, been more cautious of the way you spend money, exercising more, taking up more responsibility, getting closer to God or even something as trivial as laying your bed each morning. Sad as it is, some of you will still convene on the 31st of December with “Unresolved” resolutions.

So how do we ensure that the year doesn’t end like previous years, with us stuck with unresolved resolutions and burdened with regrets of Nonfulfillment *Ps, just found out that was an actual word*?
1) Set Goals and not aspirations or strong desires. It’s much easier to achieve something once a time-limit has been attached to it.
2) Set practical goals, don’t go daydreaming about how you’d lose 30kg in 6weeks. It just isn’t done!!! If you don’t believe me ask your doctor.
3) Dare to dream big!!! A Wise Friend of mine once said; “Until your dream is so large it scares you, you haven’t started dreaming.”
4) Don’t wait for everything to fall in place before you start working towards your goal. God said “He will bless the labour of your Hands, not the labour of your mind”. No matter how little it seems, start something!!!
5) Please and please, if you haven’t done so already, Develop a Plan for your life. This cannot be over emphasised, you cannot continue to live life as it comes, infact that cannot be called living. That in and of itself is mainly existing. If you live life without a plan and a purpose, when the waves and tide of time comes, you’ll be dashed against the rocks. Sure things don’t always go according to plan and plans tend to change according to God’s purpose but have a plan. I am not going to start writing about how you should live your lives because I believe that’s what the Bible is for.
6) Have complete and total dependence on God, cause out of Him you’re gone. John 15:5c says “For apart from Him, we can do nothing”. Above all things, be connected to God.

I’d like to stop here for now, do hope I didn’t bore you too much!!! 🙂 Again I want to say Happy New Year, I know deep down that this is going to be a great year. As is a habit of mine, I usually have themes for each year, the one for this year being Purpose. My goal this year is “The Pursuit & Fulfillment of Purpose”. I am going to invest this year and the rest of my life pursuing God’s purpose and working in God’s plan for my life. Well that’s all for now, again I want to say Happy New Year, trust we’ll have a great year. Looking forward to a great year with you guys, Ciao for Now!!!

Till Next Time
I Remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. I just like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again right here frequently. I’m moderately certain I will be told plenty of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the next!

  2. Fantastic items from you, man. I have keep in mind your stuff prior to and you’re simply too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve obtained right here, certainly like what you are stating and the best way during which you are saying it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue to care for to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. That is actually a great website.

  3. Coincidentally,i wrote on purpose earlier today on my pm.,that “I thank God for growth,I didn’t spend the 31st shouting happy new year and playing around but spent it in reflection-where I am,whr I am going,whr I want to be. It may mean that I am officially geting old,lol, but nothing beats living a purpose driven life and questions like these help set us on track.
    True,true these tips on goals were.

Leave a Reply

