What Would You Do With Your Last Hour??!

20130228-150703.jpg

Hi Guys

So for a while now, I’ve been getting exposed to a couple of messages and series all geared towards “The Last Hour”. We had a very interesting sermon some Sundays back, with a very interesting topic and I felt I should share a bit with you guys.

So after this really Inspiring and blood cuddling message about the end time, I went for cell meeting the following day, been Monday: anyway this question was asked; “What will you do with your last hour”. God knows the answers I heard that day were so intriguing and interesting. Someone said something about eating an exotic delicacy, another said he’d call his family and tell them He loved them, some people said they would make their ways straight with God, some others even braved the thought of going out to tell someone about Jesus.

Now at this point in time, you’ll realize that while these are all Valid and Good enough “socially accepted” ways of spending your last hour, they all however seem to be centered around regret. Wikipedia.com describes Regret as “A negative Conscious and Emotional reaction to personal past acts and behaviors”. Regret, you may wonder why some young people will want to express regret, usually that’s what old people do, but John Barrymore said “A man isn’t truly old until regret takes the place of His dreams”.

At the point of death, you no longer have a future, all you have is the past and its memories and for some people, it’s regrets. Regrets of not telling your family how much you love them, about the adventures you never had, the dreams you never brought to life, the relationships you never had both with God and you fellow man, the people you never told about God’s Love

As I’m sure most of you are already wondering what my answer was, I’ll just go ahead and say it. My reply was “Nothing, probably Sleep“. Before you all get judgmental, for me that is the best way to spend my final hour, I won’t go round calling my family and friends, telling them how much I love them cause they already know, that come sun, come rain even if I don’t call them as much as I’d love, I love them. I won’t start making my way straight cause I have already received righteousness through faith, Heaven is guaranteed, and the word says if a man’s way pleases The Lord, He’ll make even his enemies to be at peace with Him.

People say life’s too short, get closer to God, live life to the fullest, make use of every opportunity, speak about Jesus and while I totally agree with this, I’m of the opinion that Life, is Long. I won’t go into the details of how long Life is, but Life is far too long to not tell someone daily about Jesus. It isn’t your job to convict them, that is the Job of the Holy Spirit, but still we have to go out and tell them about Jesus. It literally takes less than 10 seconds to tell someone “Jesus Loves You“.

In these dark times, God said “call on Me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall honor and glorify Me. (Psalm 50:15 AMP)” but the Word also says “How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!” (Romans 10:14, 15 NIV)”

Dedicated In Loving Memory to a really great friend: Oladipo Opadijo, You will surely be remembered by all of us who love you and hold you dear. R.I.P.

Till Next Time
I remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

6 thoughts on “What Would You Do With Your Last Hour??!

Leave a Reply

