Life As We Know It…

20130615-162008.jpg

Life, the dictionary defines as “The Period between the Birth and Death of a Living Thing”, but is that all there is to life? Life the Orients *The Asians* say, is a journey that begins eventfully at birth and ends ultimately at death. Or does it? Oh well, I guess we’ll find out with our dying breathe.

Life is a series of constant changes, from Child’s first cry to man’s dying breadth, from fly’s first flight to it end at spider’s web, from ugly bud to the beautiful flower that is sold at street end. In all this random talk of BIRTH & DEATH, all I’m trying to say is this, life’s a tale of constant metamorphosis.

Anytime my parents tell me how much I’ve grown *added weight*, I laugh and my mind goes back to the times when their prayer was that they could provide enough for me and my siblings. Remember those days, when you had no worries, no responsibilities, when your biggest challenge was what you were going to buy with your lunch money *for those of you who got lunch money, up until the better end of my junior years I still carried a lunch box* yeah so much has changed.

Change in and of itself isn’t a bad thing, after all my God is a God of Change and yet He CHANGES not.

He changes the times and the seasons; He removes kings and sets up kings. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to those who have understanding! (Daniel 2:21 AMP)

Change however, signifies progress, growth and ultimately Life. Infact, the moment you stop changing, you die. Sadly even death is a change. However even with the randomness of Change, there’s still a measure of order.
TO EVERYTHING there is a season, and a time for every matter or purpose under heaven: (Ecclesiastes 3:1 AMP).

Like I said earlier, Life’s a journey and what makes a journey worthwhile, is not the destination, but the journey itself. Lets face it, while the beginning and the end are clearly stipulated as *Birth and Eternity*, the end of eternity you arrive at is completely dependent on the Middle part, the journey.

Unlike any other journey though, life is comprised of so many destinations, *Phases for lack of a better term* that come after each other and gives us a sense of accomplishment (be it puberty, or graduating from university, marriage, the birth of your 1st, 2nd or 3rd Child, or the fulfillment of your life’s dream). However all of these pale in comparison with the final destination (eternity).

“Your present days are the good ol’ days of tomorrow. Live your lives to the fullest, enjoy your youth but have your future in perspective”- Pastor Ify Ejidike

Life outside of God (in the world), gives the illusion of Living but it is merely existence. “For in Him we live and move and have our being. (Acts 17:28a AMP)”. In summary;

Life’s a journey, our actions of today move us towards our future, our purpose is our road map, God’s will our compass, our accomplishments are the pit stops along the way and eternity is our final destination…” #SelfQuote

Notice I didn’t mention purpose, well that’s a topic for another time *I’ve already written enough for today* . However before I leave, I’ll like to end with this Quote:

No man is above regret except He, who lives in the GOOD, PERFECT & ACCEPTABLE will of God”- Ochuko A. Akpomudjere (2013)

Dedicated to The 6th year graduates of CSMU *Sorry, Doctors* (Mofi, Seyi, Tola, Elizabeth, Yomi and the Others I can’t mention now) I’ll miss you all, I know you’ll have an awesome journey ahead of You.

I remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

One thought on “Life As We Know It…

Leave a Reply

