Criminal Minds…

20130816-121730.jpg

So over the course of the past week, I saw pretty much the whole of season 1 of Criminal Minds *Yeah, boredom can make you rearrange your priorities.* I needed a break from reading and I just didn’t want to permanently damage my brain cells with Africa Magic.

Anyway the show is basically about a group of FBI agents in the “Behavioral Analysis Unit” of the FBI and their job basically is solving Criminal Mysteries by looking at the behavioral patterns of the suspects “Unsub” as they call them. One of the reoccurring trends in the show is that the criminals usually have damaged childhoods.

I actually like the show and I must say I’ve learnt a lot about the human psyche, *If you want to know what, Contact Me* however there are things I don’t agree with. While I’d admit that there are some damaged people on the planet, I’d also want to state the fact that everybody has a choice.

Growing up, my parents taught me that every result you arrive at is as a result of a choice & that in every situation, there is always a choice. Also being Nigerian, a country where some things are frowned upon, you grow up knowing that some things are not just ethically wrong, they are just plain retarded.

Imagine a situation where a guy wakes up one morning and kills 4 women on a road trip to the river where he drowned his mother, all cause she cheated on his father when he was little. Thus he grew up hating women, Biko, are you mad? I tried to imagine a Nigerian child doing that, all I kept picturing was the Tire and Petrol they would burn him with. Ok, I’m going off topic.

Anyway in the show, they develop character profiles of potential criminals and while they are very accurate, they forget to factor in the power of human will. Growing up, I kept wondering why God, the Omnipotent one didn’t just make all of us saved. Cause He gave us a will and thus the power to choose/decide our fate.

Deuteronomy 30:19 KJV says
“I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live”
“So then, each of us will give an account of ourselves to God.” Says Paul in Romans 14:12 NIV.

So what do we account of, our actions? Well yes, but more than that, our words and our choices. Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks, as a man is in his heart, so is he.

Chinese Philospher Lao Zhu said
“Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habit. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.”

You are a product of not just the words you hear but the words you say but more so, you are a product of the choices you make. I’d like to amend that saying

“Watch you thoughts, they become words. Watch your words they influence your choices, watch your choices, they shape your actions which in turn shape your habit, character and your life in general.”

You always have a choice, you can choose to steal or kill, or you can choose to do the right thing. Your circumstances do not shape your actions or your life, there are people in worse situations doing the right thing. What differentiates us from the psychopaths out there are the choices we make. So make the right choices today.

I Remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

2 thoughts on “Criminal Minds…

Leave a Reply

