The Road Less Travelled (6)

image
On behalf of CSoG I want to welcome you into another great week. So it’s monday again which means new chapter in our series, if you’re just joining, relax, we’ve got you covered. You might want to first check out Chapter 1, Chapter 2 & Chapter 3 & Chapter 4 and Chapter 5 Thank You. 🙂

It was like the world had gone silent. Tunde felt like he was going to explode. What happened? When did it happen? How did it happen? The questions shot out of his mouth like artillery rounds. Why aren’t you saying anything? Dele, I’m asking you to tell me what happened to Titilayo.

I’m sorry Tunde but I don’t have any answers for you. All I can say right now is that it looks like a suicide. Suicide? Why would Titilayo want to kill herself? She’s the most cheerful person I know. Like I was going to say before you interrupted me, it looks like a suicide, but seeing as we don’t have any conclusive evidence, we’re treating it as a homicide.

A what? A murder, we’re treating it as a murder investigation. Look Dele all this rubbish you’re saying is is sounding like French in my ear. How can Titi be dead, is it not Titi that I saw the other day? You saw her? Yes. *Dele grabs a notepad and starts scribbling*. When was that? 2 nights ago. I see and did she seem odd to you? No she didn’t, she was just her regular shy self.

Did she seem you know, depressed? Dele I’m telling you she’s the most cheerful person I know, I’ve never even seen her frown before? Is that so? Would you say she had any enemies? Dele are you mad? What is with all these random questions? What else? Are you going to ask me if I killed her? Is that why I’m here? Are you investigating me?

oh my God, that’s why I’m here isn’t it? That’s why you had me detained? You think I killed her. Tunde shut up,stop being so paranoid. I brought you here cause you’d have been killed otherwise. Seeing as this place isn’t a 5-Star hotel, the only way I could ensure your safety was to have you arrested and put in solitary confinement. *Unless you’d have liked to fraternize with the other inmates?*

*Dele reaches into his pocket and pulls out a packet of “Benson and Hedges” & a lighter. He drops them on the table in front of Tunde.* Dele, what is this for? You haven’t changed much since secondary school, I know how easily agitated you get when you need a smoke & to the best of my knowledge, you haven’t had a stick in over a day. Oh sorry, did you finally quit smoking or have you stepped it up to weed and coke?

Odé (Idiot) like I’d answer that question in a police station? Tunde sorry for the inappropriate line of questioning, just covering all the bases. Anyway that’s all for today, you’re free to go, I’d have Corporal Musa return your personal effects. Please fill the contact forms on your way out, so I can contact you as soon as the autopsy is done. Don’t worry about the cigarettes, it’s on me and I’m sorry for your loss, I truly am.

Minutes later, Tunde stands outside the police station. He looks at the complementary card Dele had just handed to him. He flipped it to see the address Dele had scribbled on it. It was the address of the Hospital Mama was recuperating. He opened his wallet, of course it was empty. Like the police officers would’ve left any evidence in his wallet *Corrupt Retards he cursed under his breath* .

He wondered how he was going to get home, then he decided he was going to go to the hospital instead, It was nearby and it wouldn’t hurt to pay mama a visit @ least to see how she was doing. Besides she seemed to be the only one who seemed to have any answers and he did have so many questions that needed answering. He took a stick of cigarette and lighted it, he took in some air and let out a puff of thick smoke, he watched to fade away and then he headed out into the night in search of answers.

To be continued

I remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

4 thoughts on “The Road Less Travelled (6)

Leave a Reply

