Keep Calm, I’m Superman…

image

Growing up, I’ve always been an avid viewer *not sure English would allow me say watcher* of cartoons. Some *my parents included* would say I’m addicted to them. I won’t blame them cause to a large extent they shaped the way I act and reason even now, for one thing they made me believe anything is possible but that’s a discussion for another day.

There’s this thing that I both love and hate about cartoons though, it’s a common trend in the SciFi/ Action genre, it usually goes like this: “very ordinary guy with ordinary people problems, realizes he has powers and then he develops new set of eyes that not only show his own ordinary problems *which have also gotten their own superpowers * but also problems he never knew were issues before (for example someone wanting to blow up a city).

And then after he miraculously saves the day guess what, his life is never the same again. Why? Because some stronger bad guy somewhere would have been watching the whole ish on a 60inch monitor and would’ve made up his mind to test his powers on the new “Superhero”, the new bad guy shows up gets defeated and guess what another bad guy shows up. All the while, the hero is learning new skills and developing new powers *which they always had BTW *.

Got this revelation a while back “Until power comes, do not expect opposition!!!”. Liken it the misfortune that befalls people cause of the presence of superman. Before the arrival of superman or superheroes, there was never a need to defend the earth from aliens, artificial natural disasters or highly powered & highly unstable people. Ok, I’m starting to bore even myself, just liken it to those times when you have money and suddenly all those other things you never worried about suddenly become your worry.

Sorry, let’s take it down a notch; remember those days, yes those days when you had no worries, when your biggest challenge was what you were going to buy with your lunch money *for those of you who got lunch money, up until the better end of my senior years i still carried a lunch box* I’m sure some of you want to go back to those days & honestly I don’t blame you, I wish it were possible sometimes but alas, it isn’t.ย 

In comparism to life as believers, after you give your life to Christ, you see life in a way you’ve never seen it before, you begin to realize the things that were always there but you never noticed because they had nothing to do with you so to speak. You realize that you have unimaginable power and like all forms of power, it draws opposition you never expected. At this point, what do you do? Feel discouraged or stand up tall and face the challenge.

The truth is you are more powerful than you know or give yourself credit for, Phillipians 4:13 says “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”. But if we don’t shun complacency and face the challenges, we’ll never know how strong we actually are. Imagine if Superman never discovered he could fly simply because he was comfortable with his super strength.

If you cannot see what is at your disposal, you’ll keep running away. You’ll never make use of it. If you’re satisfied with where you’re, it’s because you haven’t seen something bigger. Don’t think because you gave your life to Christ, all things are going to be rosy, that is a very fat lie. Jesus said:

“I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace and confidence. In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration; but be of good cheer [take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted]! For I have overcome the world. [I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.” John 16:33 (Amplified)

What Spiderman’s uncle failed to tell him and what they fail to tell us as believers is that

“With Great power, comes a great deal of Crap you obviously are not ready to deal with”- Skye (Agent of SHIELD)

So when life throws rocks at you, do you stand and fight or do you cover you face and hide. As for me, I raise my head up high and say, “Keep Calm, I’m Superman”…

*Photo Credits: Comic Vine*

I Remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

3 thoughts on “Keep Calm, I’m Superman…

Leave a Reply

