I’m Nigeria…

image

She’s 53 today and her children are all over the place, some rejoicing, some happy, some angry, many are indifferent, but most are crying. Crying because of the state she’s in, crying because of what she’s become.

Like a sheep she’s been led by countless shepherds, led into ruin and her children have suffered the consequences. Clearly this isn’t what she signed for, this isn’t what she bargained for, this isn’t what she expected when she broke away from her captors.

I’ve always envisioned myself a poet, but I guess that’s as far as I can go with the sad analogies, the honest truth is I’m happy, why? Cause Nigeria is 53 today. Most Nigerians, especially those currently in Nigeria, would find my Happiness as misplaced, but I don’t care, we’re 53 and we’re still a country.

Sure we’ve problems, sure we’re not where we’re meant to be but at the end of the day, we’re still one nation. Off the top of my head, I can think of nations that didn’t make it to 50 *If you want to know which, contact me.* Anyway I don’t know about you, but I love Nigeria.

I mean what’s not to love? The people, the food, the food *had to write it twice (you’d never know how good Nigerian food is until you leave the Country)*, our multi-talented people, our music, our cultural diversity, our natural resources (Truly Nigeria is perhaps the most blessed country on earth).

Nigeria isn’t just a geographical location, rather Nigeria is it’s people and I as a person, as a representative of Nigeria, I refuse to see Nigeria as a lost cause. Simply because I know that God has not brought us this far to leave us hanging. I believe change has come cause I am the change.

Like TY Bello’s song, I am Nigeria, I am part of it, we aren’t finished, we’ve just begun. But until we realize that each and everyone of us no matter how small, are Nigeria, then change will not come. To change Nigeria, we have to first of all change ourselves.

We’re Nigeria and nobody is going build us but we ourselves. I don’t want to have to explain to my children how I stood by and watched from afar as Nigeria crumbled. Truth is if we all run out of Nigeria, who would build it?

I’m a proud Nigerian and no matter how bad, how hard or how wrong things may seem, there’s no other place I’d rather call Home. I’m proud to say it anywhere, I’m not just Nigerian, I’m Nigeria…

I remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

4 thoughts on “I’m Nigeria…

Leave a Reply

