Excused Excuses…

image
If all you make is excuses, sorry to say but that's all you'd be making for a long while- Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

“Busy is a new drug a lot of people are addicted to”- Rob Bell

Funny quote I know, but think about it, what’s one of the most common excuses you hear when someone couldn’t meet up with a task or an assignment. “Sorry, I couldn’t make our appointment, I was busy!” Or “Sorry I know I promised to write this article earlier but I’ve quite busy this past few weeks”.

I have always found excuses to be rather off putting. Not only because they’re almost always lies and my brain simply can’t handle that many lies (The Truth really does set you free) but also because I’ve found out that like everything else, excuses can and if left unchecked, it’d actually become a habit. You want to know what else can become a habit, here’s a clue: “Failure”

A wise man once said, the only thing standing between you and your success is the bullshit excuse you keep telling yourself. What people don’t know is Failure and excuses if left unchecked, intertwine to create this never ending cord of regret, that continues to intertwine till you’re a fool at 40 with enough intertwined regret to hang yourself with.

So many people have failed so many times that they’ve built walls of excuses upon the foundation of their past failures that even when they succeed eventually, they see it as some sort of fluke. A case of good fortune so rare, it baffles their entire being. To them Success is a thing they only hear about, Excellence is just a thing that only a few “Lucky” people get to experience.

If only they knew that Excellence can be attained by just about anybody out there. If only they knew that like Failure, Excellence doesn’t just happen. It’s a compilation of various mini successes acquired over time. However excellence isn’t a destination, it’s a journey, it’s a lifestyle. So make haste while it’s day, shut out that little voice in your head, look past your failures today and see the person you can become if you’d only just rise above your excuses.

image

*A conversation I had yesterday with Timi inspired this post (Thank You Timi). Mind you I wrote 2 pieces based on the Rob Bell quote, would be posting the other later in the week. So be sure to check that out when it comes up. Till Then πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ *

I Remain
Ochuko A. Akpomudjere

4 thoughts on “Excused Excuses…

  1. Lol @till you’re a fool at 40 with enough intertwined regret to hang yourself with πŸ™‚

    Okay, I better stop laughing, this is serious stuff. A few years ago, everything I touched seemed to fail. It was one disappointment after another. I would psych myself after one disappointment, put all I had into the next project, only to have it fail again! I was depressed everyday.

    But like you said, “Excellence doesn’t just happen. It’s a compilation of various mini successes acquired over time.” I opened my eyes and started celebrating my mini-successes instead of my major failures. Confidence bred confidence, and I’m on my way now.

    We really need to hear this Ochuko. And thanks for chatting with me πŸ™‚

    1. Lol, I laughed myself when I wrote that part.

      Sometimes it’s good to hear other people’s success stories (The events leading up to their successes).

      Thanks for checking up on me. We should chat some more 😊😊😊

Leave a Reply

