#DontLetTheDevilUseYou: Episode 8

Ehen, the day has finally come, the day we get to sit besides our dictionaries and listen to Aunty Lizzie burst our heads with big big English. *Dodges Large Bible*, Aunty sorry na, *Dodges Offering Basket* Okay I won’t call you Aunty again, Biko you people she’s all yours, Enjoy

  
Hi there!#DontLetTheDevilUseYou
I had barely decided to return to writing when Ochuko buzzed to harangue me into sending an entry for this series. After giving in(not like I had a choice. Lol), I toyed with several ideas that refused to shape up. *sigh*

By my entry’s penultimate day, it dawned on me to knuckle down and hustle hard until something is birthed. I hope something resonates with you.

Recently, i read a friend’s facebook post that centered on male children and barreness where she pithily expressed how gutted she gets at the pain, hurt and ridicule women go through either as a result of ‘their’ inability to produce male offspring or even have children at all especially on occasions where its been ascertained that the problem lies with the man, either as a result of low or dead sperm cells or the fact that its the man’s chromosome (Is this the right term?) that influences the sex of the child. Not too long after, this came home to me.

See, I’ve got some ties( not biological though) with a certain tribe that places such an exasperating emphasis on the male child and how they can do no wrong. Lol. However, knowing that a certain social more exists is slightly different from a closely personal experience. She had just lost her dad and before the man’s body even settles in the mortuary, his brother is already jostling for his phone, the keys to his cars and making decisions that slight the wishes of the deceased’s immediate family, simply because, wait for it…….the deceased doesn’t have a male child. This from a man whose children are all female too. Hahaha. What foolery! He’s got his own coming to him.
I can’t begin to share the trauma this man put this lady, her mom and sisters through, the unbelievable details but I certainly can state that God is a God of justice and a defense for the defenseless… and while I’m at it, I can also add that at every turn, God frustrated his actions. Yasss!!!! #DontLetTheDevilUseYou.

Hey! Where do you get off playing God? What one human being have you created? Formed-from-dust-being that you are! I mean, if God just suspended your breath for a millisecond, the joke’s on you man! Do you think your own female children have got some immunity? Oh wait! I get it, you’ve still got time to have a male child before you die, yeah because you’ve got your scheduled death date all marked out. #DontLetTheDevilUseYou
How do you think you can sow seeds of wickedness and manipulation and lies and deviousness and think you won’t reap the fruits? Pray tell, do you think? If you haven’t got fear for God, what’s your brain for? #DontLetTheDevilUseYou

I’m reminded of a case in scripture; the daughters of Zelophehad in Numbers 24:4-7, who were denied their land inheritance following their father’s death. This atta girls didn’t cower or lay low and when Moses brought the matter to God, God directed that their rightful inheritance be given to them. Look, you don’t want to fight against God. See also Job 42:15.
You don’t get any awards from denying people what belongs to them because you’ve got a measure of power. #DontLetTheDevilUseYou

And oh, while we are on this soapbox(hehehe), might I add that its alright to stand out and be different if you’re for God. Just because everyone says it’s okay or everyone does it, doesn’t mean its okay or should be done.
If everyone else cohabits, you can’t be living with the opposite gender and say you’re just friends. #DontLetTheDevilUseYou

That everyone cuts corners at work doesn’t mean you should. The day you try it, God will lovingly expose your deceit. #DontLetTheDevilUseYou

My name is Lizzie and I’m a growing stickler for living in and by God’s reality. How to know what that is? Easy. You find it in the word. I urge you to lead the highest quality of life God has called you to.

Be resplendent!

Aunty Lizzie said I should tell you people that she’s single and ready to mingle (God fearing, Tongue Talking, Demon casting brothers, come with your CV and your Tithe Card). I’m kidding O, before they hit me with Church bus. She blogs at Lizzie’s Default, you might want to grab your dictionary as you head on there sha, but trust me you won’t regret heading there.

4 thoughts on “#DontLetTheDevilUseYou: Episode 8

  1. LMAO @ tongue talking. Demon casting…

    I agree with you a 100% and more aunty Lizzie. May you keep telling people how not to let the devil use them.

    I will head over to your blog and carry my dictionary. I need to learn how to use big English words that will make me appear smart anyway.

Leave a Reply

